The Bible in C: overview

9 Aug

To whom it may concern:

I’ve been quiet on this blog for quite awhile. Sometimes it is difficult to know what to write about. Other times the demon named “perfection” haunts me, making me wait until I have some that is “perfect” before I write, which of course will be never. But now I have something to share! It’s on my heart. Beginning today, August 9, 2010, the anniversary of my baptism, I offer my sense of the Bible’s Big Story, the Overarching Narrative, the grand picture. So here it goes, The Bible in C, my “c” categories are

CREATION

CRISIS

CALLING

CONVERSATION

CONQUEST

CYCLES

CROWN

CONFLICT

COLLAPSE

CHALLENGE and CONFUSION and CONFIDENCE

CHRIST

CHURCH

CONSUMMATION/CELEBRATION

For however long it takes, I will be offering this retelling of the Bible’s Big story. Many thanks to those who have inspired me, listed in the “bibliography” below.

One Peace, One Love, in the One Lord Jesus the Christ, Tim

Bibliography and inspiration

The Bible’s Big Story and the Crossways course (Dr. Harry Wendt, founder of http://www.crossways.org)

Mercy and Manna: God’s Unfolding Promise to Mend the Entire Universe and It’s All About Love and Baptized We Live: Lutheranism as a Way of Life (Daniel Erlander at http://www.danielerlander.com)

A New Kind of Christianity and The Story We Find Ourselves In by Brian McLaren (the use of the letter “c” and some of the “c” words are adapted from McLaren’s work)

2 Responses to “The Bible in C: overview”

  1. Cynthia August 10, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    Love it, Tim! I am a HUGE fan of Wendt and Crossways as well as Erlander’s terrific materials. I also use his baptismal book and, best of all, “A Place at the Table” for First Communion. “C” is a good letter, isn’t it?? 🙂

    • graceconspiracy August 10, 2010 at 12:55 am #

      Thanks, Cynthia! These authors, plus others, have helped me to grow in my understanding of the Word. Stay in One Peace (Christ’s)

Leave a Reply

